Pin It

Posted on

All of my friends rave about Pinterest.  Some of them are even obsessed to the point where they talk all the time to compare recipes, fashion tips, and other interesting things.  Pinterest has never stuck in my mind to join.  I actually never understood the point in it even until my social media class at NYU where we had to give a presentation about Pinterest, and I was lost trying to “pin”.

The day we gave our presentation on Collaborative Social Media Platforms is when I made my Pinterest Account.  After exploring how to use the social media platform, I discovered I already had 5 followers, without creating any boards or pinning anything.  It connected right to my Facebook account and my friends from that social media platform connected with me.  Now all I had to do was figure out how to actually use Pinterest.

This is what my Pinterest looked like after I logged in the first day:

1 st day

The first step I thought was necessary was to create boards to pin things too.  The first board I made I simply named “Food”.  Everyone I talk to about Pinterest always gets these fancy and crafty recipes off of Pinterest and post them on Facebook.  So after my first board was made I started looking for recipes.  The only problem is…I can’t cook or bake.  So this held my attention for about 2 minutes.  I finally started to look for something on Pinterest that had to do with my hobbies.

I did a board on fashion, books, and businesses after.  I was able to look up the company I work for and got to see our products, much more interesting than looking at recipes by the way, and looked at fashion ideas for the upcoming seasons.  After all of this I don’t think I would make Pinterest a way to connect with my friends or a normal daily habit.  But seeing my companies stuff on Pinterest shows me how influential Pinterest can be as a Collaborative Social Media Platform, displaying our products to people.  It allows me to go to the website and to click on it.  The Pinterest allows takes me to websites that are similar to my type of boards I’m interested in, even if it isn’t directly correlated.  However from this whole experience I can say one thing, I don’t see myself Pinning again anytime soon.

This is what my Pinterest looks like now!

end

Leave a comment